Note: You must be a member of Carl Orff Canada in order to apply for any of the scholarships listed below. 


Keith Bissell Scholarship
This scholarship is given for the study of an approved Orff Level’s course or Master Class at a Canadian Institution, with preference given to candidates applying to courses offered in Ontario. This scholarship is usually in the amount of $400. Scholarship winners are asked to write a short article describing their experiences in taking the course, which is then published in the Ontario Orff Chapter newsletter, “The Mosaic.”
Application Deadline: April 24, 2020
click here for 2020 Keith Bissell Scholarship application
Keith Bissell – A Short Biography


Gunild Keetman Scholarship
This scholarship is available to be used towards an approved Orff Schulwerk course offered in Canada. Applicants must have completed a Level I Orff course in order to apply.
Application Deadline:  April 15
Click here for Application / more details

Carolyn McMillan Research Grant
This $500 grant is offered to encourage research relating to the application and study of Orff Schulwerk in Canada. Applicants must have completed Level III Orff in order to apply. Projects may be broad-based and may include such topics as:

  • the integration of the Orff approach in music therapy, private teaching, geriatrics, palliative care, etc.

  • pilot projects for the music education major or the practising teacher

  • practical applications for the classroom

  • a descriptive and evaluative annotation of bibliographic resources on Orff philosophy and/or Orff materials

Application Deadline: June 15
Click here for Application / more details



Lois Birkenshaw-Fleming Scholarship
This is a scholarship for taking an ECME, LTTA or any Orff course at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto. It is open to any registrant in the course, not just COC members.

Revered Honorary Member Lois Birkenshaw-Fleming directed the Orff courses for many years at the RCM. She donated $50,000 to fund this scholarship; the annual earnings are used to award a number of scholarships to Orff, Early Childhood and LTTA course participants. Award amounts vary from year to year.

Application Deadline for summer courses: June 1, 2019
click here for application and more details



2019 - Allison Wires
2018 - Kaleena Pettigrew
2017 - Andrea McNeil
2016 - Jennifer Sanderson, Bahareh Ameri
2015 - Lisa Lauriault, Mark Scarmato
2014 - Alison Roy, Nadia Hohn, Tanya Turner
2013 – Kristina Hadjur
2011 –  Allison Tipler
2010 – Cathy Ullman, Vivian Li
2009 – Lori Moccio
2008 - Joanna Reynolds
2007 – Dianne Emiry, Susan Wesson, Allison Tipler
2006 – Peggy Hobbs
2005 – Diana Kukar
2004 – Wendy Spademan
2003 – Ian Wallace